Impact! From Bauhaus to IKEA

International Conference presented by the School of Design, University of Technology Sydney (UTS), IKEA x UTS Future Living Lab and the Goethe Institut

30 September – 2 October 2019


One hundred years after its founding in Weimar in 1919, this conference traces the transnational impact of the Bauhaus on the history of the future of design and architecture. As a heterogenous and interdisciplinary, international workshop of modernity and a laboratory of the future, the Bauhaus changed everyday life through design: from single objects to buildings and cities in the search for the creation of a “new man, a new city, a new world.” In its 14 years of existence, accompanied by controversy and hostility from its inception to its enforced closure in 1933 by the National Socialists, the Bauhaus set in motion the democratization of design that is reflected today in all aspects of the spaces we occupy and the objects we use and own.

IMPACT! From Bauhaus to IKEA takes the historical Bauhaus as an emblematic point of departure in order to discursively reimagine the role and agency of designer and architect in the 21st century. Theorists and practitioners from design and architecture will discuss whether and how the Bauhaus is relevant today and critically examine Bauhaus concepts on the future of living. In keynotes and panel sessions, speakers from Germany, Australia, Israel, Sweden and the United States will address the Bauhaus’ impact on studio teaching, mass standardization and fabrication, material thinking and practice, social and co-design, and global thinking versus hyperlocal practices. The conference will result in an edited research volume to be published in 2020.

Keynotes: Claudia Perren, CEO Bauhaus Foundation Dessau; Alison Page, UTS; Iina Vuorivirta, IKEA Sweden; Andrew McNamara, QUT; Axel Kufus, University of the Arts Berlin

Speakers: Yandi Andri Yatmo, Paramita Atmodiwirjo and Diandra Pandu Saginatari, Universitas Indonesia; Matthew Holt, UTS Insearch; Michael Trudgeon, RMIT; Wolfgang Muench, Lasalle College of the Arts, Singapore; Gerard Reinmuth & Brooke Jackson, UTS; Yael Allweil & Nimrod Regev, Technion, Haifa; Jeffrey Lieber, Texas State University; Ruth McDermott, UNSW & Berto Pandolfo, UTS; Sarah Breen Lovett, Monash University

Convenors: Thea Brejzek, Stefan Lie, Lawrence Wallen..